Tags

I’m a warm weather person. There is never a doubt about that. But I love this time of year for one reason.  OK, two, but I’m only talking about one right now.

Crockpots!

I love crockpot cooking.  I plan my menus around my crockpot. I’ve got two of them, my large one that I don’t use quite as much anymore because it’s so big, and  my small, two people size pot. Here’s how I will use it this week:

The night before, I put a pork loin into the crock pot and stuck it in the fridge. In the  morning before leaving for work I put just a touch of water at the bottom of the pot and turned it on low. Then I walk out the door and forget about it.

When I get home from work I begin chopping vegetables.

I used broccoli, carrots, green beans, peppers (yellow and red), sweet potatoes. I had a zucchini and totally forgot about it until the veggies were done cooking.

Disaronno? Why, I don’t mind if I do! I didn’t even realize it was sitting on the counter until I looked at this picture.  I’m a lush. Sue me!  Anyway…I coated it in a mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic salt, sweet basil and a little Italian season. Please don’t ask for specific measurements. You know I don’t do that shit!

The Vidalia onion chopper is a must-have if you do a lot of veggie chopping. I use mine all the time!!  I love it. That bag behind the Vidalia lid is the coating mixture.

Two things of note here: The crockpot, of course. It’s got the heavenly smelling pork loin perfectly cooked. The bowl to the side is a mixture of beans that are soaking for a different dinner. We’ll talk about that in a minute.

Chunk of  meat. Plate full of roasted veggies. I was going to make an apple salad to go with it because apples pair so well with pork, but I got lazy.

So, the beans. There are white navy beans, pintos, black beans, lentils, miscellaneous dehydrated veggies all soaking, waiting to be cooked. The left over pork loin will be shredded and set aside. The drippings from the pork will be used to cook the bean mixture with. I’ll add some organic vegetable stock to make enough liquid to cook properly cook the bean mix. That will go in the fridge the night before. Then it will go into the crock pot before I leave for work. Once I get home from work, I’ll add the shredded pork loin and then go do my workout. By the time I get home, the pork will be heated through and the bean soup will be ready to eat. I’ve got whole grain rolls in the fridge to go eat with the soup. If I’m feeling ambitious, maybe I’ll make the apple salad that I was originally going to fix for the previous meal.

For the apple salad, you just peel, core and slice the apples into bite size pieces. Coat with vanilla yogurt and toss in a handful of chopped walnuts. Simple. Good.  Good for you.

So, two meals cooked this week. One day we’ll eat out when we go see Jenna. The other days we’ll eat leftovers from the two meals that I cooked. Holy cow, I love crockpot season!

