Tags

I received very welcome news yesterday. My young son in law was slated to be deployed on a three month training mission. I didn’t think this was a bad thing originally because I didn’t know any of the details. He was to be transferred to another unit and then head out of the country.

Yesterday I found out where he was supposed to be going. Colombia. Yikes! It’s very strange, but I’m more whigged out at the thought of him going to Colombia than Afghanistan. Is that normal? I don’t think that’s a normal thought process. However, in all its military intelligence, he didn’t get transferred to the unit that was deploying in time, so he will not be going on the mission. To say that I’m relieved would be a massive understatement.

I know that he signed up to be a marine in a dangerous time in US history. But as the momma bear, I’m glad that he is staying out of harm’s way for another little while.

