Jackie called me. First time we’ve talked since her wedding. She had a great time in Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. I was happy about that. I asked her if she took any pictures. She laughed and said, “Yes, Mother, I took pictures! Not as many as you would have taken, but I did take pictures.”  I don’t know what she’s talking about, but anyway….

I asked her if I could have some pictures and she goes, “Of what?” I said I wanted them of her trip to the mountains. I suggested she post them on Facebook and then I could download what I wanted. She said, “OK, I’ll post pictures from Yellowstone, but I’m not posting any of my wedding shots.” My heart immediately sank. I assured her she didn’t have to post any, but I’d still like some from her wedding. I went with her and her photographer so that I could get some of the pictures they took with just Jackie and her husband, but I didn’t spend the whole time with them. Jackie said, “Well, they just are, um, they don’t, well…she just have a different style of taking pictures than you do.” I wanted to cry hearing the disappointment in Jackie’s voice at the way her wedding photos turned out. The photographer was a last minute find that Jackie’s new sister in law found. There was a brief moment in time where Jackie had asked me to take her pictures. She did so hesitantly because she wanted me to be able to more a part of the photos than the photo shoot. She was relieved to have found a photographer so that I wouldn’t have to be bothered with it. Now. Her feelings are different and that makes me sad.

The moral of this story, for any of you out there who may be planning a wedding, is to not scimp on the photographer! You get one chance at wedding photos. You’d better make sure you’re going to be happy with the outcome. I’m crossing my fingers that Jackie is just being overly sensitive to seeing herself in photos rather than the pictures actually sucking!  Ugh.

