Another week. Another room.

The living room is probably the most underused room in the house. Unless we have company, Mark and I never hang out there. I mean, really. Why would we? The TV is only 32 inches in the living room as opposed to the 60 inches in the TV room. If there were a microwave in the TV room my husband would never even have an excuse to walk through the living room to get to the kitchen.

I have no before pictures, just trust me when I tell you the robin blue that was on the walls was totally digusting!

Here’s the general gyst.  I love, love, love my red wall!  My older sister is kind of, well, beige in her tastes.  The first time she walked into my room after it was finished she said, “Wow! It’s red. I’d never do that in my house, but I like it.” Funny, because it really didn’t sound like much of a compliment to me.

There used to be carpet over the hardwoods. I was so tickled when we peeked under the carpet to see the floors. One of Mark’s buddies came in while we were on a cruise and sanded down the floors, buffed them, stained them and shellacked them. That’s the way to get work done, folks!

This is the other side of the room. Since this picture was taken I put a TV over the shelving unit on the wall and moved the artwork to the other side of the room.  The artwork is my own.  I painted two canvases the same color as the walls. When it dried I taped it off and painted each square random colors that I used throughout the room.

Oh, here you go.  The artwork in its present location. The lamps I thought were a lucky find.  My couch has pillows with a criss cross pattern and when I saw the criss cross pattern on the lamp with red on the inside of the diamond shapes I think I about peed myself.  It’s the small things, really!

This is above my piano. I wanted a place to hang family photos but thought it would be boring to just  hang pictures on the wall. So I painted the wall blue and then framed it in with the leftover baseboards that I had. It’s different from anything I’ve ever done before, but I liked it well enough to do a similar thing in the hallway where I have the kids pictures hanging.

See.  Kids’ pictures. I couldn’t take a straight on shot because the hallway is too narrow, but you get the idea.

I made the end tables.  You could probably tell that.  *shrug*  The light is kind of funky but if you notice the curtains you can see that they have the same criss cross pattern as what’s on the lamp and couch pillows. They’re the exact color as the walls so it really blends into it and I’m kind of at a point where I want a little more  pop to my drapery so I’ll probably look to replace them before too long.

Is it sad that I had to come up with a new grouping in my living room because my brother and sister in law gave each of the siblings a set of crystal candles sticks from their wedding. I needed a place to display the candlesticks.  Call me a sentimental old fool!  I won’t care.

Well, there you have it. Next week you’ll see the guest bedroom.  It’ll be the last part of the tour of my house for a while because my kitchen is still a couple years away from being remodeled.

I’m not sure how much I will be able to post next week.  I’ll be at my family reunion and probably be quite a bit off the grid. If I get a chance, I’ll pop in and say hi and maybe share a crazy story or two.  Or possibly just post some pictures of the beautiful mountains!  Either way, I hope you all have a fantastic weekend. Be safe.

