We went to have dinner with my family over the weekend to celebrate Father’s Day.  It’s always great to get together with everyone and visit.  Well, my parents were sitting on the sofa next to each other, Ann was next to Mom and Mark was next to Ann.  Mom suddenly start screaming and swatting at Dad’s stomach as she was jumping practically into Ann’s lap.

“You have a spider on your belly!!”  Swat!  Scoot!

“Honey!  It’s going into your shirt!”  Swat!  Scoot!

“Oh!  Oh!” (very high pitched, I might add) Swat!  Scoot!

About her third squeal/swat/scoot trio Ann got up and stepped away from the couch.  Her space was being just a touch invaded.  Maybe Mom thought it would be safer ON Ann’s lap!

Not a dry eye in the room! I was so overcome with the ridiculous scene I didn’t even have the presence of mind to whip out the video on my cell phone.  I had my phone in my hand because we were all playing Word Feud together when Mom lost her cool.

As if that wasn’t enough oddness for one day, the present unwrapping began.  My older sister got Dad a book but her only gift back was a Victoria’s Secret bag!  She had it all pretty with pink tissue paper folded up neatly and tucked inside. Dad cracked up when he saw the VS bag so he got a little dramatic as he pulled each tissue out.

As he pulled out this pretty pink piece of paper, he noticed a little note on it!  He looked a little closer and goes, “What’s this?” Well!!!  Sis1 went red in the face and yanked the tissue paper out of his hand!  Hmmm.  We all chuckled the first time it happened.  The next time he pulled the pretty pink piece of paper out with a note attached we all burst into laughter again.  Sis1 goes, “Perhaps I should have checked the paper more closely before putting the package together!”  Ya think? 

All in all, it was a great time with my parents, siblings and their families.  The getting there was a challenge, but that’s a story for another day!

