Anyone who knows me in my real life community, or my internet community knows that I’m very much pro-life.  I don’t get into many religious or political discussions because those are both personal belief systems and the conversations can turn touchy very quickly, but when it comes to abortion I don’t have a problem speaking my mind.  I make sure to be respectful during those types of conversations because this is also a very touchy topic.  My personal belief system is that life begins when there is a heartbeat. I’m also a big believer in choice and accountability.  I believe the choice is the sex, the accountability is the life created in the process.  That’s what I believe in a very simplistic sort of way.  The nutshell version, if you will.  There are many other reasons why I’m pro-life, but I’ll spare you all that.

So…..why talk about this now?  I’ve had this blog for more than a year now and have not touched on this very sensitive topic.  I’d like you to meet someone.

Isn’t she lovely?
 

This is Brooklynne.  She’s my brand new niece.  She is so beautiful that it almost renders me speechless.  Almost. When my sister was about 4 months pregnant, the ultrasound indicated that there was something wrong.  After further testing they determined that she has Hydrocephalus. At the diagnosis the doctors recommended termination.  For my sister, that was not an option.  Whatever was going to happen was going to happen and she would not terminate.  The picture that the doctors painted was very grim. Brooklynne would need to have surgery within the first week of being born to have a shunt placed in her head that would allow them to drain the water that collected around the brain.  As she got older the shunt would be modified in order to allow Brooklynne to learn how to relieve the pressure herself.  There would be disfigurement from the abnormally large head.  There would be learning disabilities.  The possibility that she would die shortly after birth (if she even survived the birth) were likely. It was a very grim picture.  Through it all my sister refused to terminate.

We were talking one day about two months before Brooklynne was born and I asked how she was holding up. She said she had come to terms with the likelihood that she wouldn’t get to be Brooklynne’s mommy for very long, but if she were only able to be her mommy during the time that she carried her in her belly then she was OK with that.  She was already so much in love with that baby.

After Brooklynne was born they did an ultrasound. There would be no need for the surgery right now.  They’d do another ultrasound in a week. No surgery would be needed.  One more week and they’d do another one.  That was last week.  Results today said there would be no need for the surgery.  They will do another ultrasound in a month. Of course, we don’t know at this point if there will be learning disabilities, but everything else the doctors told her did not happen.  When I asked of her frustrations with the whole worrisome pregnancy, here’s what my sister had to say:

“I don’t know that it irks me that I had to go through all of the craziness during the pregnancy.  I know they were looking out for her best interest.  The biggest thing that bothers me is that two of the doctors pushed so hard for termination.  It really irritates me and makes me wonder how many people have terminated when things could have turned out just fine.   Not one doctor the whole time gave me even a slim chance of hope that things could just possibly turn out ok.  They all had told me worst case scenarios which I like to know but for heaven’s sake they could at least say there is a small chance that things will be ok.”

There you have it. Just one out of a number of reasons why I am pro-life!  Isn’t she lovely?

